The Deinonychus Saga (Part 1)

Since I’m going backwards and forwards with the artwork in this blog, I decided to include a bit of the Denonychus Saga that inspired the  3D restoration you can see  in previous pages. I have depicted the deadly embrace of Deinonychus and Tenontosaurus many times (you might be familiar with the two pieces I’m including here this time: the first one was first published in the Bakker/Rey “Dinosaurs” from Random House and the second one goes as back as that ancient collector’s item called “Extreme Dinosaurs!”).

The two illustrations depict females only (doing the hardest job as it is quite often in nature!). In the next post there will be yet another female… and a male, sitting pretty. Why I depicted them with bald heads and looking like condors or vultures… why not?

About luisvrey

Paleo Illustration
This entry was posted in Dinosaurs, Theropods and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment