Velociraptor

Velociraptor. Fully arm-feathered as the newly discovered of ulna bumps for quill attachment demonstrate.

Yes, we were right from the beginning

About luisvrey

Paleo Illustration
This entry was posted in Theropods and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Velociraptor

  1. Herman Diaz says:

    It’s good to see that you’ve updated your Velociraptor. I can now say that your Velociraptor is the best I’ve seen.

    BTW, out of curiosity, does your Velociraptor’s coloration count as countershading (like that of a coyote)? Many thanks in advance.

    • luisvrey says:

      Coyote is as good guess as any other small predator… but I’d like to see it more as influenced by a Secretary Bird or something like that… anything as as long as it is believable! The rest of the colouring is imagination… it also helps the fact that I keep experimenting with everything I see at the level of colour (even from fashion magazines!)… but I never forget that these are animals, not fashion designers.

      • Herman Diaz says:

        I know what you mean. Other than having a blue face instead of a red face, its coloration is very Secretary Bird-like. I was just saying coyote b/c that’s what comes to mind 1st when I think of countershading.

  2. Ryan Kearns says:

    Hey Luis Rey I am a big fan of yours! I was wondering why you always scale the legs so far up on bigger raptors, wouldn’t it make more sense for them to be naked like on an ostrich?

Leave a comment